Circles and Spirals

I’ve been thinking lately about circles and spirals, about perfection and revisiting lessons to learn them in new ways. I’ve been wondering what deal my soul struck before it chose to be reborn, what I’m here for this time around. I’ve been wishing, hoping, dreaming, fearing, loving, learning, healing. Soon I will return to writing.

Circles

The moon is most happy

When it is full.

And the sun always looks

Like a perfectly minted gold coin

That was just Polished

And placed in flight

By God’s playful Kiss.

And so many varieties of fruit

Hang plump and round

From branches that seem like a Sculptor’s hands.

I see the beautiful curve of a pregnant belly

Shaped by a soul within,

And the Earth itself,

And the planets and the Spheres –

I have gotten the hint:

There is something about circles

The Beloved likes.

Hafiz,

Within the Circle of a Perfect One

There is an Infinite Community

Of Light.

– Hafiz (Daniel Ladinsky)

~ by Alana on May 7, 2010.

3 Responses to “Circles and Spirals”

  1. Beautiful! I love this poem and I love circles and spirals… when I doodle, it’s spiral shapes I play with. There is something reassuring in the cyclical, though i think the comfort only comes when we relax into it.

  2. Lovely, Alana—our consciousness too may be a circle, awakening to itself, imploring us all to connect, love, realize and form circles as symbols of some unity which dreams itself into being.

  3. hafiz, one of my favorite poets. we have a cat named god because of one of his big little ditties.

Leave a Reply

 
