Holy War

I am in the midst of an epic battle. My rational mind is at war with my inner knowing. Fear is doing its best to not be drowned out by love and trust.

It’s ugly. I’m exhausted. But I think I’m winning.

Here’s what Hafiz* had to say to me tonight when I asked a question and opened to a page;

I wish I could show you,

When you are lonely or in darkness,

The Astonishing Light

Of your own Being!

and then…

We have all come to the right place.

We all sit in God’s classroom.

Now,

The only thing left for us to do, my dear,

Is to stop

Throwing spitballs for a while.

* From the book I Heard God Laughing: Poems of Hope and Joy, Renderings of Hafiz by Daniel Ladinsky.

~ by Alana on April 5, 2010.

5 Responses to “Holy War”

  1. Glad to meet you… and to share your evolving struggle.

  2. Yes, an epic battle. That is exactly the way to describe it, and I think we all have some version of the battle waging in our hearts and minds. What the facts and figures tell us vs. what our heart and gut tells us. What we are taught is true vs. what we know is true. It’s a difficult thing, balancing both sides of our beings.

    Thanks for the poetry – simply uplifting.

  3. Gorgeous poetry that is also very true. Deep breaths, my friend, very deep breaths.

  4. I agree with Emma. Gorgeous words. I love the analogy of throwing spitballs in God’s classroom…something I’ve done too many time to count. Thanks for sharing and I feel confident that, in fact, you are winning.

  5. You are winning. You are aware of the ego. It’s not who. I love Hafiz’ poetry. You picked one of my faves, here. I love stopping by to visit you here. SEnding you love, and as Emma said, “Deep breaths”.

Leave a Reply

 
