6 changes – the kick-off

Alongside my intentions for the year, I’ve decided to implement six changes in my life – one every two months. I’ve attempted a version of this before based on Jack Canfield’s suggestions in The Success Principles. Ahem. I didn’t do so well.

So this time I’m going public. I’ll start each one on the first day of every other month – so by the end of 2010, they will all – hopefully – be fully integrated into my life.Find more info and inspiration here if you’d like to join me.

Here are my 6 changes – new daily habits – in no particular order.

Meditate (20+ minutes)

Read (20+ minutes)

Write (20+ minutes)

Exercise (30+ minutes)

Floss my teeth

Dance/Create (this one isn’t totally clear  yet. Do I want to make sure I put music on and move to it every day or do I want to create something, somehow, in my life every day?)

I’ve chosen a minimum of 20 minutes because it feels do-able. I worked with a great success coach off and on this past year who is an advocate of chunking time into 15 minute increments. I like the feel of 20 better – it gives me more time to settle in to what I’m doing but is still short enough that in a busy day, I can clear the space for it. Plus when I learned to meditate it was 20 minutes twice a day (with an extra 30 seconds at the front end and 2 minutes at the end) so that’s what works for me. Maybe in 2011 I’ll get two daily meditations in. Maybe.

I’ve chosen meditation first because I strongly feel the lack of it. I’ve found a time that I can consistently commit to in my daily (very unscheduled) life. It’s not the ideal time, but it’s a practical one. Which means I have a chance of making it work. It’s day 2 and so far, so good.

If all I do this year is make these 6 changes stick, it’s going to be an incredible year. I’ll be posting (quick) updates here to maintain accountability. Let me know if you want to join in by leaving a comment or tweeting me. I’ll do this alone if I have to, but I’d much rather have community. So here’s to a new year, to growth, to change. Here’s to the leap of faith, to believing “I can” even when the past would indicate “I can’t”. Here’s to choosing the lives of our dreams and then allowing them to unfold.

~ by Alana on January 2, 2010.

6 Responses to “6 changes – the kick-off”

  1. HI Alana. Best of luck on your project. I started a similar one too. However, I’m trying 12 habits. One per month. Looking forward to following your progress.

  2. Awesome, Alana! I saw this post on zen habits and am putting together my own 6 changes to go public with, as well. This post is just the kick in the pants I need to remind me to get on it!!

    I love starting with something doable and seeing what it grows into. I meditate for 21-22 minutes (when I do meditate) simply because that’s how long the music track is, and I find it to be a nearly perfect amount of time when I start out. And once I get to 15+ days in a row, I find that a 25-30+ minute track seems like no time at all. Looking forward to your habit creations!!

  3. Hello! What a find. I linked to you from CoachDian and was struck by the synchronicity. I was about to begin Canfield’s Success Principles today. Was actually wondering if I even want to read it, or just take it back to the library. Feeling a bit like I’ve stuffed enough information in for awhile. Then I went to your about page and felt the same sort of vibe I felt when I offhandedly started doing a blog just to see…

    Thanks for the heads up about 6 changes. I typically follow Leo and just haven’t been following anything regularly due to overload. I may start my own six changes. Meditation is actually a habit I’ve been trying to make more consistent because I know I feel better when I do it.

    Good luck to you!

  4. MiggsEye – wow! 12 new habits. Wishing you consistency, strength and fun as you move through the year.

    Dian – I’m off to check out your blog now – so glad you found a kick here.

    Christi – Thanks for your visit and comment. There is soooo much info in The Success Principles – personally I need to be in the right place to take it in. I’m hoping that my 6 changes (other than maybe flossing my teeth) will fit in beautifully with Gwen’s #mindfulist.

  5. Hi Alana, Great idea to set up accountability and I love the balance in your SIX things. A question that has really been helping me recently when I set goals or intentions is “What would it look like to do this 100%” Somehow that gives me extra clarity I need, thought I would share it with you. I love your photo’s too. Can’t wait to follow your progress.

    Marianne Emma Jeff

  6. […] started the year with a vision. I also started with the intention to make six changes by adding one new practice into my life every two months. I got two – meditating and reading […]

Leave a Reply

 
