Best of 09 – Dec 22-30

My last game of catch up this year. This has been an amazing experience – I only wish I’d had a little more time to write daily and to read more of the other bloggers who have shared their memories, passions, growth and fascinating voices. Thanks to all who’ve found this blog and let me know – connection is one of my greatest pleasures.

December 22 Startup. What’s a business that you found this year that you love? Who thought it up? What makes it special?

This was a tough one for me but I finally decided on a business that I just found in the last two weeks. Henry’s Frozen Delight Premium Raw Vegan Ice Cream. I’m not Vegan. I don’t follow a raw diet. In fact, I probably eat way too much dairy for my own good (mmmm….cheese). But this is good stuff. Quality organic ingredients. Delicious flavors. It has no sugar (my nemesis). The fact that I know and like the family behind the company is a big bonus. Right now it’s only available in a few select stores around Southern California but they are looking to expand. Not too fast as it’s all handcrafted by “Henry” himself. They’re working on online ordering too. If you’re willing to spend a few extra dollars on quality ingredients and a handmade product, I highly recommend giving it a taste. Yum.

December 23 Web tool. It came into your work flow this year and now you couldn’t live without it. It has simplified or improved your online experience.

Ummm…?

I have so much to learn.

December 24 Learning experience. What was a lesson you learned this year that changed you?

That the Universe, God, Spirit – whatever you want to call it – is on my side. That my perceived failures were not failures at all. They were lessons. I got up, I dusted myself off, I moved on.  The “failure” part is all in my head. It’s all my ego talking, my perceptions of what I should think, look, do, be, earn. In other words it’s all bullshit. This year I learned to stop the mental train before it jumped the tracks. I learned to trust that everything in my life is exactly as it should be for my growth, my journey. I have no doubt I will continue to learn this lesson, over and over and over again. Familiar ugly feelings sideswipe me with regularity and I have to touch base with something – a person, a book, my deepest self – to stop staggering from the pain. To remember everything I knew a few moments earlier. I accept responsibility for my life. I am excited to live it. I trust that I’ll know how – in the best way, the truest way – possible. I trust that I will always figure out how to dust myself off and move on. Because the Universe, God, Spirit wants me to. Until my very last breath.

December 25 Gift. What’s a gift you gave yourself this year that has kept on giving?

Forgiveness.

Permission.

Love.

December 26 Insight or aha moment. What was your epiphany of the year?

Hmmm…how to pick just one? It’s been a big year for epiphanies.

One of the most recent is probably one of the most simple and mind blowing. I finally realized this year that I have incredible gifts to offer. I have enormous value. I am worthy of love. That sounds a bit ridiculous. The voice in my head that says “don’t sound stuck up” is shuddering. It’s not that I’m better than anyone else. It’s that I’m not worse. I am me and though there are a number of people out there who look like me (or so I’ve been told) there is  no one else with my passions, my strengths and weaknesses, my intelligences all wrapped up in the same package. There’s just me. And almost 7 billion other people who are trying to figure it all out too.

Sometimes I feel as though I’ve wasted a colossal amount of time listening to that “you’re not so special” voice and believing it. I think of what I could have accomplished if I’d started telling it to shut up ten, twenty, even five years ago. It makes me want to scream. Then I remember the lesson above –  everything in my life is exactly as it should be for my growth, my journey – and I forgive myself. I give myself permission to soar. I give myself love.

December 27 Social web moment. Did you meet someone you used to only know from her blog? Did you discover Twitter?

I thought I loved facebook but then I found Twitter. Then I started a blog. Then I found Gwen Bell’s Best of 09 challenge. Then I found myself in the midst of a group of incredible men and women sharing who they are with me even though we’ve never met. How lucky am I?

December 28 Stationery. When you touch the paper, your heart melts. The ink flows from the pen. What was your stationery find of the year?

My fave find of the year came when I opened a box I’d been storing in my basement since we’d moved into our house in 2002. I opened it because we were moving out. In it I found two sets of note cards and envelopes from G. Lalo.  Scalloped edges, soft colors, lovely paper. I could spend hours and hundreds of dollars buying stationery so I don’t tend to let myself do it. This year it was definitely not in the budget. Occasionally my (old) habit of buying things and forgetting about them offers up a sweet surprise.

December 29 Laugh. What was your biggest belly laugh of the year?

I have no idea. I know that it was either with my daughter, my husband or my best friends. I know that I laughed a lot through the challenges, the stress, the losses, the tears. I know there will be more laughter before the year is through.

December 30 Ad. What advertisement made you think this year?

I don’t watch television. I don’t read a lot of (mainstream) magazines. I don’t tend to remember ads.

I just wrote a whole post that turned into an infant formula company rant. So I deleted it. It didn’t belong in the “best of” category. I can’t think of any ad that does. So I’ll take a pass, bid you adieu and look forward to writing my final best of 09 post tomorrow.

Wishing you peace…and laughter.

~ by Alana on December 30, 2009.

3 Responses to “Best of 09 – Dec 22-30”

  1. Brava. Kudos. Applause. Fist pump. Heart to heart hug. I’m so grateful that you are sharing your blossoming with the world. Let’s rock 2010, my friend! xo

  2. this is a standing ovation for your authenticity, your willingness to be honest, and your resolve to “stop the mental train before it jumped the tracks.” this is a powerful post, my friend. powerful.

  3. Emma. Thank you as always for your words.

    Jeanne. Coming from you, I take that as the highest compliment. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
