Best of 09 – Day 8

Moment of peace. An hour or a day or a week of solitude. What was the quality of your breath? The state of your mind? How did you get there?

2009 was one of the most stressful years of my life. It also has given me some of the biggest gifts I’ve ever received. I’ve been inspired, scared, angry, accepting, overwhelmed, joyful, at peace.

An hour? Maybe once, having my body and spirit worked over by a talented friend. A week? Definitely not.

This year, moments were enough for me. Being fully present as I said goodbye to my home of the last 7 years. Breath slow, even. Mind empty of everything except gratitude. Moments suspended in time. I’m learning to be present, to quiet the insanity of expectations and mental chatter. I’m learning to trust again – myself, my husband, my journey.

Many years ago, my friend wrote a poem that I fell madly in love with. I haven’t read it in years but I’m going to try to remember it (forgive me AK if I get it wrong).

There are moments of stillness

As delicate as a dandelion

Growing through a crack in the sidewalk

When I know, without arrogance,

That I am who the angels dance with

On the heads of their pins.

– Andrew Kaufman

~ by Alana on December 8, 2009.

2 Responses to “Best of 09 – Day 8”

  1. yeah, moments is all we get sometimes. we moved this past year, too. i have such a keen sense of place, moving is not something i do lightly or easily, so i understand. plus, on a practical level, there’s packing and unpacking. beautiful post.

  2. I love the poem. And I keenly hope 2010 brings many, many more moments of peace. Beautiful post.

Leave a Reply

 
