Best of 09, Day 2 – Best restaurant experience

I love food. I love to cook and I love to eat out, although restaurants are a more challenging experience with a toddler than they were without one. I rarely have a bad restaurant experience and the mediocre ones quickly slip from my mind. Even the great ones fade into distant memory if it’s only about the food. For me, people make it memorable and there are two that come to mind.

#1. El Coyote, Los Angeles, with three of my best girlfriends.

On the way there, I managed to scrape the back end of a new black BMW SUV with my crappy little car that I bought when I moved to LA ten years ago. I was stopped at a light and decided to pull into the left hand turn lane, something I’ve done about 10 000 times since I turned 16. This time though, my brain couldn’t quite calculate the distance – the effects of long-term sleep deprivation. Needless to say I was late to lunch and a little bit shaken.

Lunch lasted 5 hours I think. The food was terrible as usual. The margaritas were strong. The girlfriends were life-saving, inspiring, heartbreaking and so beautiful. I think I had some sort of salad. I think there was an issue with the salad dressing and the waitress’ attitude. I know I love these women and with our busy lives, spending 5 hours laughing and crying in a corner booth was one of the biggest gifts of my year.

#2. Firefly Bistro, South Pasadena.

Dinner with my husband. Daughter at home with my mom, who lives 3000 miles away. Delicious food. Lovely wine. Time to look into his eyes, hold his hand and remember why I fell in love with him in the first place.

~ by Alana on December 2, 2009.

One Response to “Best of 09, Day 2 – Best restaurant experience”

  1. This post has me laughing and crying. Aw, the power of friends, food and margaritas!!

Leave a Reply

 
