Best trip of 2009

Thanks to my friend Emma James, I found out about and decided to participate in Gwen Bell’s Best of ’09 challenge. Because I need more reasons to not sleep.

Right now 2009 is a little hazy. I can barely remember my name, how old I am, or what I ate for lunch. When I saw Gwen’s question though, my heart responded in spite of my memory.

The best – and hardest – trip of my year was the drive in front of the moving van from “old home” in the hills of North East Los Angeles, to “new home” on the beach in Ventura CA. (Names courtesy of my 2 year old daughter). We went from owning to renting, from a house to a duplex, from not seeing our neighbors’ homes to staring at their walls. It’s a change that could feel shameful but instead has allowed me to spread my wings again. I feel more joy and less pain, more inspired and less stuck, more freedom, more present, more ME. Hallelujah. Life is good.

~ by Alana on December 1, 2009.

One Response to “Best trip of 2009”

  1. I love how we can never predict what change will bring. So glad you’re on the #best09 journey too!! xo

Leave a Reply

 
