Inspiration

I made the mistake of picking up the newspaper again today at breakfast. After the first 3 pages, I put it back down. There was an article on swine flu (although thankfully it was telling people to be concerned but to stop panicking), one on a woman who for years forced her children to help her torture and kill animals until her 21 year old son turned her in, and one about a young woman who was stabbed to death by her ex-boyfriend while the police were sitting outside her door “protecting” her. My heart is still aching.

I decided to shower and wash some of the unpleasantness off. Lots of people talk about the shower being a place of meditation or inspiration. I let my mind wander back to the stories, to the Marshall Rosenberg book I read yesterday, to my belief that we can reduce the amount of violence in the world through conscious and compassionate parenting. My daughter wandered in to say hello and I could see in my mind’s eye the light of her spirit. She shines so brightly. All children do. My heart aches for those children who grow up to be that abusive mother, that murdering ex-boyfriend. I don’t know how to fix it but I don’t believe it has to be this way.

I had an idea in the shower. A moment of clarity and inspiration. I love those moments – the ah-ha, the certainty, the energy that blossoms from them. I have a plan – a loose one – for a new project. I’ll keep you posted (if anyone’s reading this!) and I’ll hope for your participation somewhere down the line.

In the meantime, let your light shine today. Make the world a better place for someone, anyone. Live compassionately – heart open, smile wide. Share your gifts because they are yours to give and the world needs them.

In Peace,

Alana

~ by Alana on November 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
